Monday, January 15, 2007

2006 Awards Gala

The NW Paragliding Club 2006 Award Gala was held on January 5th at the Bellevue Meydenbauer Center. Many thanks goes out to Cheryl Cardwell who organized the event this year along with the help of many others.

The Awards
Cheryl is a creative mastermind. She came up with this idea to make the table top decorations out of the awards. Along with the help of a few others, she created the 2006 Award Snow Globes. They were very creative and definitely something to display on a desk, coffee table, or mantle. I’ve created the folder 2006 NWPC Awards Gala on the Yahoo Group list and I’ve posted a few of Chris Amonson’s photos. I hope you can catch a glimpse of a few of the snowglobe awards. And the winners are…

  • Tree Sticker – Dave Byrne
  • Top Gun – Meredyth Malocsay
  • Golden Snorkle – Ashley Guberman
  • Rookie of the Year – Andy Wood
  • Darwin Award – YOU! US! There were definitely a lot of Darwin moments in 2006.
  • Competitor of the Year – Andrei Akaikine
  • Flight of the Year – Dave Wheeler and Doug Stroop
  • Volunteer of the Year – Bob Hannah
  • President’s Award – Rich Hass

A special award, The Golden Eagle, was presented to Tom Allen for 10 years of service to the Northwest paragliding community.

The 2nd Annual Media Awards got a slow start this year but ended up with quite a few entries and some solid competition. The winners are:

  • Best “In Air” Image: “Me and my mate” by Matt Senior
  • Best People Image: “CJ about to launch at Patillos, Northern Chile” by George Sturtevant
  • Best Weather or Nature Image: “Kaikora Storm” by Matt Amend
  • Best “Manipulated” Image: “Mars Launch” by Karen Wallman
  • Best “Classic” Image: “Lawrence soaring under the sun after a day of fog at the Fort” by Dan Nelson
  • Best Short Video 2006 (People’s Choice): “Hardcore” by Matt Amend

You can see all the images submitted here:

Congratulations to all the award winners this year and thank you for coming out to celebrate a successful 2006 with us.

Again, thank you to everyone who contributed to putting the gala together this year!